Mommy + Daughter time- making Salt dough Christmas ornaments

So as I was looking at the Christmas tree this year and was thinking hmmm… It’s missing something- handmade Christmas ornaments! So, I of course, went directly to Pinterest. If I even think of the words like do it yourself or craft projects I end up browsing Pinterest all night. So after spending all night on Pinterest, using all my flour, salt, cinnamon, and applesauce we ended up with gingerbread men salt dough ornaments.

First attempt and the elimination of all our cinnamon and applesauce-
IMG_8531.JPG
This one I tried first since I liked the color and it looked the easiest step by step wise. It literally required 2 cups of cinnamon and 2 cups of applesauce that’s it! How could I f*** that up?!!? Right. Well I did. It was sticky and impossible to cut out the ornament with the cookie cutter! So a Pinterest fail and I trashed it.

Second attempt and the use of all my salt and flour- obviously I’m going ingredient shopping before I attempt to “bake” again (since I do that soooo often)

IMG_8532.JPG

This in the end was acceptable. They look a little silly, but since a four year old and a mom with little cookie cutting patience made them.. I think they look pretty good.
This tutorial from freutcake was simple to follow and quicker than some of the others I found.

Simple steps- go to the other blog to get specifics.

-Mix 2 cups of flour and 1/2 cup of salt.
-Pour in water until you get a dough. Not too sticky or too dry.
-This I had to add more flour or more water until I balanced it right, Assumably because I refused to follow proper measuring specifics even when they are in front of me.
-Roll out the dough on parchment paper and attempt to recruit small children to cut the gingerbread men. Mine became bored and started to just play with the dough like play doh.
-Cook the men at 300 degrees.
-Find what you want to decorate them with and how you want to hang them. I did a ribbon above the stockings and twine to hang some on the tree. I just used a staple gun to attach the ribbon. It’s hidden so no one would know anyway and it keeps them attached!

End result- success!!

Thanks! I hope you enjoy this tutorial.
Now go have some mommy+daughter or mommy+son time with your cuties, because before we know it they will have better things to do than hanging out with us.

Always remember- This is life. We make it magical.

IMG_8551-0.JPG

Leave a Reply

